Part 177 – Date Night or Bridal Shower?

As narrated by Maariah :

There was no talk of date night for tonight so I decided to call the girls over to my place.  There would be no question about the guys gate crashing-lol they wouldn’t dare!!!Although just thinking about the last time brought a huge smile to my face.

 Even our whatsapp chat group was so silent recently. Yes we had long abandoned our faithful Blackberrys and replaced them with Samsungs and iPhones.

 Except for Riza and Nemo uploading a few random videos it was just dead! Maybe everyone was just too busy

Immy told me all about what had happened at Zainab’s engagement so a girl to girl heart to heart was very much in place. It felt good to bring people together as opposed to breaking people apart.

I had set up everything in my room and had ordered food from my restaurant. The theme was Arabian and I was instantly in love with it when I saw it in a magazine. I had a sitting area on the floor with blingy cushions and little trays on each side with snacksMy entire room looked different with all the drapes and beads giving it that look that resembled a desert tent.

 Zainab and Aara came together and Riza dropped Laeeka off shortly afterwards. Aara was unusually quiet. ..which is not how she is at all.  Zainab brought the engagement photos and my mother was glued to it! So we decided to leave her to her gushing and sighing and went off to my room.

 “Oh my goodness! !!”, Zainab exclaimed in typical Zainab style ” I think this is so going to be my bridal shower theme!!! It’s gorgeous Mariiii”

Zainab looked very different and she wore her red Loubies and she only wore those when she was exceptionally happy.  Lol and I had a feeling that we would find out why soon enough!

“And now that everything is out in the open..I think Aara should start talking to me don’t you think? “? Laeeka said suddenly

Aara remained silent and her silence worried me. .

“Aara? “, Laeeka whispered

“Hmm?”, Aara said snapping out of her thoughts ” sorry I wasn’t listening did I …..miss something? ”

“I understand why you and Riza kept all those things away from me”, Laeeka said softly

Aara smiled a small side smile…..” Nemo told me”

“No more secrets okay..because I really miss you! !”, Laeeka said with tears in her eyes

Aara hugged Laeeka ” Please man. ..I knew that it wasn’t going to last long you’re way too soft”

“Arshad told me too…I’m sorry that I wasn’t there for you”, Zainab said as she hugged Aara

“It’s okay. ..done and dusted Zai”, Aara replied as she reached out for a jalapeño samoosa

“Well,  I have news for you all”, Zainab said as she crossed her legs and sat down with us. ” Arshad and Maaherah were once a couple as you all know and well I lost my marbles when I received a picture of both of them together. ..anyway so we went to Zoheb’s apartment to sort of confront her in a nice way. ..”

“And?”, I asked with bated breath

“Oh it was really funny she didn’t see it coming! ! I was at my sweetest best even though inside all I wanted to do was smack the daylights out of her! Buuut I asked her why she didn’t meet me at the engagement and that I was so glad that she left Arshad because where and why would she be happy with a boring peadatrician and even though his father’s business is worth millions who can be happy without love”

We were finished! !”But her parents are quite rich too”, Aara said as she shook her head and tried to stop laughing

“That may be so but I have sources who tell me that madam is scouting for a rich husband and apparently she is very cut up with our Nemo because she tried her luck with him and he snubbed her off”, Zainab said with the biggest grin on her face

“So Arshad’s father’s business is worth millions huh I never knew that”, Laeeka chuckled

“It isn’t but she doesn’t have to know that”,Zainab laughed

I couldn’t help but high five Zai.She was on a roll!!”She must just go home already!  With our weddings not far off I don’t want her horrid shadow upon us”, Zainab said sounding every bit like an Indian soapie “bahu” (daughter in law)

“You sound like a bahu!!”…all of us said at once…and then looked at each other for a few seconds and finally burst out laughing! !!

“But you know what. ..I’m actually glad that I didn’t do something hectic and by just facing her…it felt as though a weight was lifted off my chest. .It felt as though I finally faced my demons”, Zainab said with a sparkle in her eyes 

“Well done Zai…it couldn’t have come at a better time”, Laeeka said emotionally. .” You see…everything happens for a reason and everything has its own time”

That was true. It seemed as though we had reached some sort of a milestone in our lives and it was as though I could see the road ahead. .forking out into different directions

“And Arshad actually sent me Calmettes by courier I mean can you ever?!?!”That did it for us because only Arshoo could do something like that and mean it in the nicest possible way!

We rolled up our sleeves and put face masks on for each other, did mini manicures for each other and it went off without a hitch. An evening of zero disturbance and I think that everyone needed this unwinding session. As I watched them leave I smiled to myself. This was the best bridal shower ever!! And our friends were in for a big surprise! 

Author’s Note:

Salaams / Hi

I know that you have been waiting for posts and I am really sorry for not posting. Early this week I lost my beloved Uncle to a terminal illness.

A man who played an important role in my life and who encouraged me on numerous occasions to think out of the box. His struggle during the apartheid era and his endeavors even after that will never be forgotten.

It is such a lovely feeling to hear from people from different walks of life,  their stories of how he made a difference in their lives.

I will always hold onto and cherish the thought that so many people are happy because of something that he did. I miss him dearly but death is the biggest reality of our lives and as Muslims we must accept it and move on for this dunya is but a  temporary abode.May Allah Ta’ala in his infinite mercy and wisdom, forgive my Uncle and grant him the highest stages of Jannah Ameen. 

Sincerely, Shazia ♥ ♡

Posted from WordPress for Android

10 thoughts on “Part 177 – Date Night or Bridal Shower?

  1. innalilahii x_x May Allah grant your uncle jannatul firdous and make his grave a garden from the gardens of jannah Insha’Allah!!

    Awwwwwww zaiiii is on the rolll hey. And Aara, my heart is with you… *Reads ayatul kursi on Nemo to be saved from Mahera*

    Like

  2. Innalillahi Wa Inna Ilayhi Rajioon ♡ Shazia may your uncle be blessed with a high place in Jannatul Firdows InshaAllah ♡

    Hmmm way to go Zai Zai 😉 Aara don’t worry love, everything will fall into place at it’s own time ❤

    Like

  3. انالله و انا اليه راجعون
    May allah grant your beloved uncle jannatul firdoze. And mwy allah make it easy for you and your family in this difficult time.

    a girls only night. Perfect mari you had the right idea😄
    missing our aara and zoheb 💕 moments flip flop

    Like

  4. Innalilaahi so sorry to hear about your uncle May Allah grant him & all the Mahoomeen jannatul Firdous Aameen & let this be a reminder for all of us to start preparing for the Hereafter

    Like

  5. إِنَّا لِلّهِ وَإِنَّـا إِلَيْهِ رَاجِعونَ‎

    so sorry hun
    may ﷲ͜ سُبْحَـــانَهُ وَتَعَالَـــى grant u n ur fam sabr n ur uncle jannatul firdous,ameen

    awesome post as always.

    Like

  6. May Allah Ta’ala grant your uncle Janaatul firdous and make it easy for you and your family Shazia, Ameen. Great post as always! And dont worry to post , us readers understand , take your time to heal. ❤

    Like

Leave a Reply

